Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I'm interested in working on the Arkansas in the next couple years. How would a guide with 2 or 3 seasons of New River work, and a couple Gauley seasons fare? Any recommendations on companies to work for?

·
Registered
420 Posts
USAFA

Hey guys. I'm interested in working on the Arkansas in the next couple years. How would a guide with 2 or 3 seasons of New River work, and a couple Gauley seasons fare? Any recommendations on companies to work for?

I would suggest USAFA. I was a trainee guide back during the summer of 2000, came up short of getting the required hours to cert before I left for the Army. I've always rafted with them every chance that I got when I was home for leave, so, my input may be a little biased.

Anyway, they are knowlegable, safe, and a great group of river rats to work with. They Do quite a few runs on the Ark.

The Guy that you'd want to talk to is Cecil Gaddy. He used to guide on the New river and also the Gauley as well.
719-333-2940

·
Registered
1,168 Posts
You will have no trouble getting a job on the Ark, 2-3 seasons is probably the average experience level. Most companies take on a fair number of rookies each year and generally are quite happy to have experienced applicants. Some companies start hiring as soon as Jan/Feb so apply early so you can screen the companies for what you want (number of trips a day, housing, pay, etc.). Search the previous posts for peoples opinions on which companies are better/worse.