Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to paddling, just got a dry top. What do people wear under it. Would a polar fleece be good? Or do I need to go out and get a farmer john wetsuit?

Thanks

·
Premium Member
3,408 Posts
NRS product called 'wavelite' I think.

·
Registered
843 Posts
absolutely nothing!! Just kidding I really wear my favorite Elton John T-shirt . . . no not really. Actually I wear a fleece like IR thing and if its cold I wears two.

cheers
Kent

·
Registered
389 Posts
Aw, come on guys, help the newbie out. You were a newbie once too.

Don't wear a wet suit. It's a pain to put on & take off, it's expensive, it's uncomfortable, and it makes rolling harder.

Whatever you wear under the dry top will likely get wet. Polar fleece should be OK, but it will hold quite a bit of water and it may be too warm on many days.

Paddle shops will show you the nylon mesh shirts sold for the purpose. It's like fleece, but a thicker weeve so it doesn't hold as much water.

Get two: a thin and a medium thickness. On really cold days, you wear both.

Here are some links
http://summitkayak.com/store/index.cfm?item_id=267&do=detail
http://www.outdoorplay.com/store/department3.0.asp?DeptID=157&DeptCode=LY

·
Registered
46 Posts
a nylon t-shirt when it's not too cold (you can get cheap ones at REI), some more layering including a long sleeve Stolquist fleece when it's cold. For really cold water you can buy a waterheater top. Think of how you layer for skiing... i.e. no cotton.

·
Registered
1,523 Posts
Follow up question:

While dry tops are great for keeping you (mostly) dry and warm, they sure build up a powerful odor over time, even with a quick rinse after each float.

How do you wash away the pungent odor without destroying the technically advanced fabric?

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
3,408 Posts