Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Banned
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Will a RPM Max handle a 15 foot drop off a fall into a nice, fairly deep pool or is the lack of any significant stern volume going to be a prob?

I am new to running waterfalls, especially @ this height, and this is a good one to learn on, as there is no dangerous recirculation at the base. I just don't want to piton off the bottom and break my foot brace (or worse - my ankles) because my boat lacked the needed volume.

Any tips before I head out and make a fool of myself?

·
Registered
112 Posts
the RPM is strictly a river running boat and should never be used for waterfall running!! you'll be putting yourself at major risk by attempting such a stunt. just kidding. you should be fine.

but i do recommend the following:

#1 - tell me where this spot is! - he he
#2 - if you do suspect carnage, make sure to shoot vid and post back here.
#3 - read the recent post "why we boof"
#4 - probe the landing pool (rocks?) and boof if necessary

·
Registered
18 Posts
Just remember the RPM is long and pointy. It is made to go THROUGH waves, not so much over them. This means that the boat will go fairly deep into the pool at the bottom of your fall. My advise is to be sure the pool is at least as deep as your bow (measered from the tip to your waist) is long. That way if you do piton you will have been cushioned some and it shouldn't hurt too bad.

·
Registered
1,303 Posts
If you want to get into creeking I would recommend buying a creek boat. You don't want a tricycle for single track...you want the best tool for the job. Creek boats work better on waterfalls because they are designed for them and are therefore more forgiving. That said the risks of running a waterfall of any size are pretty comparable (you might be fine, get hurt, or die), regardless of the boat you are in. The skill level required is what varies between boats.

·
Banned
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Cutch said: