Mountain Buzz banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
511 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Buzzards, I know this is a long shot but, I'm on a March 2015 21-day Grand Canyon trip - non-motorized. This is my second trip down the ditch and may be my last (one never knows) I am scheduled to take my 16 ft. cat but got to thinking that at least once I would li8ke to row a dory. I'm an experienced dory driver, mostly in class III or below but a seasoned hand on the water. I built and row a wood 16" fishing dory here in Colorado. Does anybody know of anyone who rents Grand Canyon white water dories? I'm a skilled woodworker if anyone has one that needs some TLC or just has one that isn't seeing any use. Hit me up if you have any ideas.

·
Registered
97 Posts
Brady, the owner at Moenkopi RiverWorks used to have one available to rent but no one wanted to use it so he sold it. He informed me two weeks ago that he is working on two more aluminum dories that he will rent. Not sure if he will have one finished in time for your trip, but it's worth asking. I would also recommend them as an outfitter for your trip.

·
Registered
511 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Cookie. +1 on Brady. I used him on our first trip and he did great. Talked to him this morning and it's a possibility but he doesn't know if he will be done by then.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Interested

Once you find and get through, let me know, I am interested to buy one, and maybe Gods are good- do it like you are planning- to run the Grand with it. Also, just in case, if you have a spot available take me and my wife, We will have all gear! I did through Maenkopi in 2014 (rented raft). I can carry gear, row and more, I have done lots of rivers up North (expeditions)...Raimond

·
Registered
4 Posts
just an idea for Dorry