Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 140 Posts

·
Registered
458 Posts
Agreed.

But money, once again, has won.

Did they at least make him agree to clean up in Rifle?? Doubt it...

·
Registered
418 Posts
As I understand it, most of the debris in Rifle is on private land and the owner asked to leave the remenants as a memorial to the project. Have you heard of anyone asking him to clean-up Rifle gap and him refusing? I'd be interested to know (as a past resident I really wanted him to, but then as I scratched the surface (barely) I ran into private property issues.

·
Registered
458 Posts
Personally, no. I also was not aware that the debris was on private land.

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I realize this will bring a lot of money to the area but what about environment impact? How many bolts are they gonna drill into the rock to support this bs? What if it breaks and the material ends up in the river? Bad idea jeans!

·
Registered
1,032 Posts
Hi,

As I understand it, this article isn't complete, and this not actually a done deal. There evidently is an appeal of one aspect of this decision and a separate lawsuit against the State park agency on the issuance of the permit.

FWIW.

Rich Phillips

·
Registered
458 Posts
Good news for now...

But...

I am willing to bet that it will be passed. Money ALMOST ALWAYS wins.

·
Registered
16 Posts
They are going to put nearly 9,000 boreholes in the river banks to hold the 1,200 anchors and concrete pads used to support the spans.

Rifle Gap was on private land and the landowners did want the pads to remain as keepsakes of the project.

·
Registered
253 Posts
"Drawing visitors to Colorado to see this work will support jobs in the tourism industry and bring attention to the tremendous outdoor recreation opportunities,” Interior Secretary Ken Salazar said.

Bullshit!!!!

What a colossal waste of money and resources!!!

·
Registered
8 Posts
is everyone angry?