Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I’m trying to decide on a ww boat for a 5’11” 290 lb guy to use near Denver. I’m a beginner so stability and forgiveness are priorities, and I’d like something I can do multi day trips with as well. Boats on my radar now are the Katana, the Mamba, the Nomad, the Nirvana, and the Zen 3. The katana has the heighest weight capacity, but I get the sense that besides being a “jack of all trades, ace at none” it has a low skill ceiling, and I’d like to get a boat that I can learn on and I won’t grow out of skill -wise for a few years. Any suggestions? Thanks!

·
Registered
3,461 Posts
Mamba is a 10+ year-old design that is still super popular even with more experienced boaters. I haven't spent much time in the Nomad, but have heard you'll either love it or hate it.

·
Registered
1,602 Posts
I'm a big guy too...a little taller and a bit lighter depending on the day but very similar. I have a short inseam for how tall I am...so should be mostly comparable.

Honestly...its really hard to find a good boat for guys our size. Very few boast are made for anyone over 250lbs and even at that weight you are at the top of the intended weight range. There are a few boats that get close and supposedly are good...but its always gonna be a compromise.