Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
538 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the info.

The instructors teaching the course I am interested in are Campton and Young. Its through Rescue 3 International and its at RMA/Poudre.

·
Registered
805 Posts
It really depends what you are looking for. If you are a private boater and don't need the certification - which in rescue 3 is generally aimed, at best, at commercial rafters, and at worst firefighters and other "professional" rescue personnel. These courses are important but for the private boater the skills you really need to make life saving decisions with your crew on the river will likely not be covered.

I am an instructor so I'm completely biased but these are the best courses for both private kayakers and rafters https://downstreamedge.wordpress.com/

Check out the "upcoming classes" side bar on the left for what we've got soon.

·
Registered
67 Posts
I took it many years ago and it was a good course. Not great compared to other courses now offered but very solid.

·
Registered
12 Posts
I did it through RMA in 1996. Bill Dvorak and one of his guides were the instructors at the time. It was May and was raining/sleeting one of the days. We got to do a high tyrolean to pull a wrapped boat off a bridge. I thought it was a great hands on experience, but with any of it, you need to practice to keep it fresh. Memorable weekend for sure!

·
Registered
301 Posts
SBB:

I know a lot of people who take it through RMA and a lot of people have recommended it to me. I don't know exactly who teaches it, but I do know that RMA brings in an expert team from out of town. RMA handles logistics and the Contractors do the instructing.

As mentioned, many who have taken it have spoken very highly of it. Maybe more importantly, none of the broke raft guides who have paid for the class and gave up making money on Memorial Day Weekend have bitched that it wasn't worth the money or the time.