Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to get my swift water rescue certification and wanted to know if anyone had any advice on when and where I should get it done. Who is the authority on those certifications? I have seen a few web sites on some of the certifications but am not sure about what would be the right course for a kayaked. Any advice or suggestions would be much appreciated. thanks.

·
Premium Member
3,408 Posts
RMOC has a good course but not sure if they offer a certification. I was told that all of these courses began with Dvorak and he is the authority but I have no first hand knowledge of that.

·
Premium Member
344 Posts
where do you live?

There is a guy named Mike Mather who is a guru in this stuff. i haven't personally taken his swiftwater rescue course, but i know a bunch who have and really liked it. Try starting with Alpine Kayak if you are close to Vail, and they could give you a solid lead.

hope this helps.

·
Registered
580 Posts
I took Dvorak's class and was very impressed. Well worth the money and you can retake after 3 years for 1/2 the price.

Only drawback is that you will have rescue professionals (EMT, Firefighters) and rafting guide types, so it isn't kayak specific.

·
Registered
76 Posts
river rescue

CKS down in Nathrop holds kayak specific rescue classes but nothing that will give you an official cert. if that is what you are looking for. I have heard great things about Dvorak.

·
Super Moderator
2,843 Posts
I too am interested in taking a class. I would like to round up a group of folks I know and do it together. (saving yourself can sometimes be difficult) Anyone know a qualified instructor, that would want to teach something a little less formal to a group we organized ourselves?

Feel free to PM me if you or your company meets that description.

Dave

·
Registered
558 Posts
the boc is doing a swr instructor cert and the two day regular cert on april 24-27.