Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
I bought a 12 foot raft for the fact ill mostly do day trips paddling with 2-4 people. Is a 12 foot raft good for the snake river or am i better off upgrading to a 14 foot raft? I’m a beginner and looking to work my way up with rapids as well as eventually I’d like to get a frame and do some multi day trips.
thoughts?

·
Registered
80 Posts
Are you asking if a 12' paddle raft is good for the snake? If so, then I would say yes. If you are thinking of putting on a frame and carrying people and gear then I would say it is acceptable for just you or maybe you and one other person.
The problem with paddle rafts on a multiday trip is other people have to carry the gear. Paddle boats can carry a small amount of gear but are not usually too great at handling groovers, kitchen boxes, etc. (although I have seen folks strap gear in the middle to add some rigidity to the paddle boats).
I use a 16' boat for the snake when I have passengers. I use a 14' boat when it is just me. Either way, however, both are framed and I oar the boat. I do not configure it for paddling.

·
Premium Member
1,436 Posts
What part on the Snake are you referring to? padding or rowing? If you move up to oars or down to them depending on your point of view, you need to be good on the oars for hells canyon in a 12 footer. I row a 12 footer and love it, even with one passenger on multiple day trips, but I have many years on oars which helps.

·
Registered
44 Posts