Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been laughing my way through the threads about people with no experience asking how to do a private trip and figured I'd ask a slightly different version of that question.

My wife pulled a June permit for next year and we're thinking about doing it as a one boat trip with just the two of us. Given the way the permit process works we're not really expecting one of us to be the winners again on a permit for a long time so we'd like to have the experience of running it solo for once. We definitely understand the "but why wouldn't you bring your friends and make it more fun?" argument, and if we win again we'll definitely bring friends, but just once while we're still relatively young, we'd like to do it just the two of us.

I feel pretty overly confident honestly as I'm a Swiftwater instructor, I've rowed the main Salmon, Westwater, Lodore Canyon, and we're on a friend's Grand trip next month. We're also both Wilderness First Responders.

So basically I want to know what others think I'm missing? Even if it's just little things like "take your boat to a lake with your pulleys and practice flipping it", what skills or pieces of gear or knowledge are we missing that we should be sure to do/have before a solo trip? Please shoot me down and tell me why this is a dumb idea haha.

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
I think you will have your answer after your grand trip next month seeing the canyon with a solo trip on the mind. Totally doable but need to recognize the exposure of a one boat trip. Sounds like u should be set up for success with experience. Hope to hear the updated perspective after floating the ditch with what I assume is a group trip.

·
Registered
2 Posts
I've been laughing my way through the threads about people with no experience asking how to do a private trip and figured I'd ask a slightly different version of that question.