Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Semi-Beginner boater looking to share ride, and find paddling partner for a few runs on Shoshone this weekend. I was on this part of the river last weekend. Pretty competent, but should have someone along..

I can shuttle/carry 3 more kayaks.

What are my chance of just showing up and paddling with folks ??

Cheers...

·
Registered
68 Posts
just show

chances are 99% of running into other paddlers. It's the only thing running and there are 4 towns w/in an hour of run.

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm new to the sport, and the etiquette. I spend a lot of time rock climbing, and am pretty open to taking beginners up some hairy stuff. With kayaking, not sure if it OK to say" hey can I join in, and if I flip, I have a 75% chance of rolling back and 25% chance of swimming, so gather my crap at the bottom if needed" Get my point... :)

I'm sure some people are OK with this and some are not... Just trying to figure it out. For the most part, Kayakers are some of the nicest people out of the three sports I participate in (Kayak, climb, MTN-Bike)...

Cheers...

·
Registered
6 Posts
Shoshone this weekend (Aug 14-15)

FYI. This is CWWA's Colorado weekend so there will definitely be a bunch of people running Shoshone and other runs. The only 'issue' being that to join an official CWWA cruise, which has trip leads and sweeps set-up for safety, you gotta be a CWWA member (www.coloradowhitewater.org). There will be "unofficial" runs going on, too, all weekend. It will likely be a pretty crowded weekend on the Colorado because of all the CWWA folks decending on the area from the Denver area....

Cheers, Juls

·
Registered
255 Posts
partners