Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Salt River: Never been on the Salt.
Looks like it just blew out from rain.
Does it typically drop quickly after a rain blowout?
What levels should i be getting concerned with from a safety perspective?
Is there a flow-to-hazard rating on this river?
Going with an experienced crew, and i have a lot of experience with high water. However, on this trip, i only have the wife in the front of the boat. Interested more in a relaxed predictable trip rather than a hair raising trip.

Thanks for your input.

·
Registered
20 Posts
We ran it a couple of weeks ago in IK's when it was bouncing between 4-5K. Interestingly enough, I didn't swim any of the class 4, but was challenged in 3s and in the canyon sections with all the weird boils and eddy lines. We had one guy who ran the entire trip clean in a Tomcat (impressive!). To me it felt like everything was washed out and pretty straight forward at the levels we saw, and clearly I was not the best boater in the group. I would have been comfortable running it up to 6K in an IK, and maybe 10K in a raft and not consider it a hair trip. YMMV

·
Registered
352 Posts
I have some buds that went down in Feb and it was 10k- at put in. Big meaty big and bouncy. Ledges, black rock, quartzite and corkscrew were serious big supposedly. It should drop right off in the next couple of days. Projections are for 4.5 k the 16th. When is your put in? If you are competent (it sounds like you are) I would not hesitate below 5k. Very busy river, lots of fast water. I would be on a trip on the 16th but for an injury.

·
Registered
131 Posts
Twoguns, you should watch the video recently posted by Jdsampsonite in the thread "Salt trip 2/28- 3/3/19 4000cfs". This is a great video showing many of the Salt rapids at around 4000 cfs. This is well worth watching if you are planning a Salt trip.

·
Registered
352 Posts