Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
194 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone know if there are fire restrictions on this run>?

Also, are the permits similiar to the ones required on teh Ark and can be obtained at the put in?

Thanks for the beta!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
No permits, just sign up for a campsite at the put-in. I think you're required to use a firepan, but I don't know if there's any additional restrictions in place.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,020 Posts
From all indications, the following still is in effect.

FWIW.

Richp

********************************


For immediate release, June 15, 2006
Contact: Mel Lloyd, 970-244-3097

Fire restrictions implemented June 15 - Fire restrictions take effect at 12:01 a.m., on Thursday, June 15, for all of Mesa County, as well as public lands administered by the Bureau of Land Management Grand Junction Field Office. The Upper Colorado River Interagency Fire Management Unit, in collaboration with local and county agencies, protects much of western Colorado, which is experiencing very high to extreme fire danger below 8,000 feet. Hot, dry weather is expected to continue.

Prompted by little measurable moisture and recent record-breaking temperatures, the Mesa County Sheriff and BLM Grand Junction Field Manager executed a Fire Prevention Order for their jurisdictions. The Stage 1 fire restrictions are temporary; however, if hot and dry conditions persist, fire officials may move into Stage 2 restrictions, which are more stringent.

Sheriff Stan Hilkey, already concerned about the growing danger, said, “By implementing these restrictions together we hope to eliminate any confusion about our collective belief that the current fire danger is high. We hope that everyone will voluntarily comply with the restrictions to prevent the loss of our natural public resources and/or prevent un-necessary risk to our fire-fighting personnel.”

“We made the decision to implement fire restrictions nearly two weeks ago,” said BLM Grand Junction Field Manager Catherine Robertson. “Confirmation of that decision came this week with the breakout of two wildfires in as many days.”

The ramifications to those who choose to be careless and disregard fire restrictions are severe. Violations are punishable by law, and fines can amount to $100,000 and/or imprisonment up to 12 months. For information on Mesa County fire restrictions, call (970) 244-3500 or go to www.sheriff.mesacounty.us. Call (970) 244-3000 or go to www.fs.fed.us/r2/fire/gjc/restrictions/ for information on BLM fire restrictions.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
133 Posts
I talked to the rangers at westwater a while back and they said even during a fire ban you still have to carry a firepan. It doesn't make much sense, but...... this is the BLM we are talking about.
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top