Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

As the title says, I'm a rookie. We are gearing up for our first season as a white water family and I'm stoked! Along with my excitement I've come up with a couple of questions that I can't seem to find the answer to.

First, how are oars measured? I was given with my boat two Carlisle Oar Shafts that measure out at 74 1/2" long. I purchased another for dirt cheap that is 92 1/2". Are the blades an additional 2' which would effectively make 8 & 10 foot oars?

Additionally, I seem to be finding a ton of different answers on proper oar length. Just searching here I've come up with everything from 7.5' to 10'. Can someone give me a basic answer fit for a beginner?

Last, if the 74 1/2" shafts are the correct length is it ok for me to cut down the 92 1/2" shaft to make a spare?

My boat is a 14' U-Disco bucket boat and the frame is homemade but awesome, running pins & clips and about 66" between the pins.

Thanks in advance for any help!

·
fat guy in a little boat
412 Posts
Carlisle blades are around 27" long.
So the 74.5" shaft will make a 8.5ft oar and the 92.5" will make for a 10ft oar.
Carlisle Oar Shaft at nrs.com

A 14'er at 66" width- I'd definitely be using the 10' oar.
8.5' will be really short on that setup. Might be usable as a spare, but not very comfortably.

Good luck, and have fun with that Udisco!
My first boat was a tank of an old 'disco. Real love/hate kinda thing;)

·
Registered
2,005 Posts
Hello all,

First, how are oars measured? I was given with my boat two Carlisle Oar Shafts that measure out at 74 1/2" long. I purchased another for dirt cheap that is 92 1/2". Are the blades an additional 2' which would effectively make 8 & 10 foot oars?
Yes, you measure the oar with the blade on it.

Last, if the 74 1/2" shafts are the correct length is it ok for me to cut down the 92 1/2" shaft to make a spare?