Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
o_O
198 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking to put together a rowing package for my annual trip down the San Juan. This will be my first raft. I can no longer overload my duckie with two coolers and camping gear for a 5 day trip.

Basically my question is: should I just opt for a "Booze Cruise" package by RM Rafts (with the possibility of a frame upgrade) or just a buy a raft+frame+oars+etc+etc separately?

I'm a grad student and thus I am not rich. Saving money is a big priority for me. And like I said, this would only be used at most two weeks a year... so the highest quality gear is not a necessity.

Basically I want the blessing of some veteran rafters before I buy an entire set.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
178 Posts
I just bought a saturn raft from RMrafts. there are a ton of Saturn haters on here so be ready to talked out of it. When the raft came I inspected it very closely. I like it a lot. The floor of the self bailer isn't laced in like others. It has a thick rubber floor and then a drop stitch floor that is glued on in three places. I got it because it is a deal. I will have to buy 4 extra d rings to attach to the boat, for my liking and preference. The boat is heavy, but it is what I need. I live in Northern AZ, and mostly kayak. When I do raft, I guide for several companies. I want to stop borrowing gear and have my own for privates. I already have 3 private trips set up for this year alone.
The booze cruise package has 5 NRS lifjackets and a 25 liter bag. If you need to supply life jackets for people, then that is great. I feel that everyone should buy their own lifejacket. The 25 liter drybag, can be found anywhere.