Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife is prego with our first. I am a high school teacher so not really use to little ones. I was wondering realistically at what age can you take a child....

on a flat water trip? as in a river that has some current but no whitewater. My thoughts are if they can swim and wear a PFD, that seams realistic to me.

easy whitewater?

I know not all kids are the same but trying to see how long til we're back doing overnighters. Trying to plan for the future was hopping to get to do gates of lodore before this happened.

·
Registered
2 Posts
We started successful trips with our kids at 4. Four day green river trip then a 5 day San Juan at age 5. Life jackets all the time, lots of snacks, iPad full of videos when kids starting going downhill. Bringing friends along helped and an IK to shuttle raft to raft. Good luck!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
We started successful trips with our kids at 4. Four day green river trip then a 5 day San Juan at age 5. Life jackets all the time, lots of snacks, iPad full of videos when kids starting going downhill. Bringing friends along helped and an IK to shuttle raft to raft. Good luck!
Cool that's what I was looking for

·
Registered
27 Posts
There are lots of threads on this so search around. I took my son on the Sacramento when he was 1 and 2. If I had it to do over again I would have found a baby sitter and had way more fun.

I took him on a 4 day john day trip when he was 3 and it was fucking awesome. Point being, wait till your kid can at least stand and walk and talk and the diaper changing is minimal or non existent. Its alot less work and alot more fun. Just my experience though.

·
Shapp
1,849 Posts