Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a newbie.

Can anyone tell me about the Seedhouse Road section of the Elk? I'd like to float it, but wonder about appropriate flows for my 14' raft, levels I should float it, and where the put in is. I think the take out is just upstream from Clark.

Oh and I'm I looking at pretty much class III?

THanks in advance,

Bill

N

·
0 Posts
The Elk is a good section of river for rafts but it is swift and cold as hell. I think you would probably want over 1,500 cfs in there to float a raft since it is a bit wider of a river bed below seedhouse. Everything is roadside so you can check it out on the way up. There are no eddies at all on the majority of the elk section, especially at 4,000 and over. I would give it a 3 + to a rafter since if one of you crew does fall out the current is pretty swift. If you need a saftey boater or someone to follow you down at a descent flow give me a buzz.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The Elk is a good section of river for rafts but it is swift and cold as hell. I think you would probably want over 1,500 cfs in there to float a raft since it is a bit wider of a river bed below seedhouse. Everything is roadside so you can check it out on the way up. There are no eddies at all on the majority of the elk section, especially at 4,000 and over. I would give it a 3 + to a rafter since if one of you crew does fall out the current is pretty swift. If you need a saftey boater or someone to follow you down at a descent flow give me a buzz.
Thanks for taking the time for a reply. I would love to float this stretch of river. It would be great to float it with another boat. Do you live in the area and how much advanced planning do you need?

·
Registered
480 Posts