Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone ran it recently? Ive heard a lot about Royale Gorge. Ive never done Pinnacle Rock it and wonder what its like at 430cfs. We are second year boaters and looking for a new run.

---Dominic---

·
Premium Member
3,408 Posts
What do you want to know? Above 400 its good to go without too much butt bumping. As soon as I rate this run, 5 people will say I am wrong so here goes. 3 rapids of technical class III and then some straight down the middle dodge the rock rapids. Read your crc bible and go to the right slot on 3 rocks then work your way back to the middle. If you want specific info answer back and I will give it a shot.

·
Registered
105 Posts
pinnacle @490

I just ran pinnacle to parkdale yesterday @490. It was fun for me. This is my first year boating so anything I say is strictly opinion and not to be taken as any sort of expert advice. Basically it was deep enough to float your boat for sure. Three rocks was the only place I flipped and swam, and that was only because I was nervous from all the hype about three rocks. I shouldn't have flipped and should have easily been able to roll. I was actually sitting in the eddy when I swam. Spikebuck was easy and that is the other rapid people tell you to lookout for. There were also some places for play and some flatwater to work on other skills. It should be fun. I have some pics on my site of spikebuck at like 430 from the 14th. http://www.dilg-photo.com/dates.php?locals=ark_parkdale&idate=04-14-2004

-Leo

·
Premium Member
3,408 Posts
Leo, you swam? No way! Sorry the hype was probably me and Karen arguing about the rating on 3rocks that got you. Damn I look good in those photos as well....hmm.....disregard the part where I got hung up on those rocks in Spikebuck.

·
Registered
255 Posts
Pinnacle