Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Westernmost
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good Morning Folks!

To start, I'm an absolute newbie to paddling but after years of dreaming my wife finally finally let me pull the trigger; I decided on a Sea Eagle 420x Explorer package (iK, 2 paddles, 2 seats, pump, repair kit) as it met my budget and has a lot of room for my wife and gear when we finally get to a point to do some longer trips.

Well after multiple test trips to the local reservoir, yesterday was my official "maiden voyage" on a river; It was a quick 6 mile float through GJ on the Colorado with my brother, with occasional I/II runs. It was a great time and I can't wait to get back on the water.

However, there were a couple of times where on relatively flat water, the stern of the boat would suddenly get pushed down enough to take on water: Not a lot of water but enough to get my butt wet!

Again, I am an absolute newbie and I'm trying to learn as much as I can, and I would love to hear input so I can better myself on the water; Here is what I think is happening: my iK is 14 feet long with an ~3 foot width. This happened twice yesterday, and both times I think my brother (on the bow end) put the nose into a slower section of the current, while the stern was in faster current. This resulted in faster water suddenly hitting the rear causing the (relatively) long and skinny iK to be pushed down in the rear and twist enough to allow for water to start entering the boat. Both times that this happened was pretty unexpected but manageable, though not to say I was startled. I'm more concerned that if we weren't in such a flat section of water when this happened, it may have been likely I would have gone for a swim!

Any thoughts? Recommendations? Am I reading the situation correctly, and any advice on what I could be doing to avoid similar situations?

Cheers

·
Registered
49 Posts