Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for a good river town in Oregon, preferably with a hospital in it or nearby. I'm a Paramedic and ER Nurse.

I'm a Class III-IV kayaker, mostly river running and creeking, but I'm getting into play boating.

My perfect town would have this kind of paddling within 30-60 minutes or less driving time with a fairly long paddling season. Class II or a playspot within a few minutes of town is good also.

I prefer someplace much smaller than Portland. I currently live in a town of about 2000 in western North Carolina. I love where I am now, but always like to have backup plan for career and paddling.

Thanks,
Steve

Sent from my QMV7A using Mountain Buzz mobile app

·
Registered
787 Posts
Hood River, OR sounds like it would meet your requirements. Has a little of everything within a 30 minute drive.

·
Registered
47 Posts
+1 for Hood River... Kayak, Snow Ski, Windsurf, Mt. Bike year round within 30 min of home. I believe there is a Providence Hospital in town, but it is not very large.

·
Registered
44 Posts
The first city that came to mind was hood river. then I thought a bit and came up with a few less conventional cities:

1. Stayon Drainage N Santiam
2. Grants Pass Drainage Rouge
3. Roseburg Drainage Umpqua

How far are you willing to drive 20 mins a day would open up some more areas.

·
Registered
364 Posts
Check out southern Oregon like Ashland, Medford or Grants Pass. Big hospitals for employment as a RN and lots of good rivers. You're also not too far from some good rivers in northern California.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks, good info. Some areas I had looked at and others I had not.

How long is the paddling season in Oregon? Can I paddle year round if I have a dry suit and don't mind a little cold? I've been out in 22 degree weather with snowing and thought it was fun! :cool:

·
Registered
787 Posts