Mountain Buzz banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked up a welded frame with non-bushed towers. There’s also a bit of play in the lock making for pinch points. Is there a better solution than just keeping it lubricated? I’m sure my bronze locks are the worst for this. The bushings I’ve seen are too big OD to work. Thanks

·
Registered
380 Posts
Mine were worn also so I was able to mill them out to install new DRE bushings. What kind of towers do you have? I am a member of the Loveland Creatorspace so have access to some cool equipment to do things like this...although I am just learning.
Machine tool Engineering Toolroom Gas Auto part

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It’s just thin steel with not enough material to punch out. I was hoping there was some specialized tape or a super thin bushing. I’m not sure what I’m asking for, obviously. Seems like I’ll just be grinding up Cobras for the time being, with some lube to slow the process. Perhaps not the problem in assuming it will be. Appreciate the thoughts!
Sleeve Textile Grey Silver Pattern

·
Premium Member
2,957 Posts
How about cutting off the thinwall and adding a piece of thickwall sufficient to install a Sawyer Delrin bushing? Much better (and less expensive than brass and will never squeak). Any welding shop can do this for you for a nominal fee. Hit the welds with cold galv zinc spray from a rattlecan for rust resistance and go boating.

·
Registered
823 Posts
Short term you can try the "Dimock cure" by wrapping a ziplock bag around the shaft of your Cobras - lasts a few hours/days depending on how much slop you have to take up (and how many ziplock bags you have on hand).

Long term you're gonna' have to cut those off and weld on some new ones, like Marshal says. And Delrin is way quieter and longer laster than bronze.

·
Registered
140 Posts