Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
432 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife and I paddle touring kayaks and also ducky class II-III -- a few years experience with those. I am thinking about NRS 12' Revolution raft (Otter-based design) or 12' Osprey raft (sportier/more rocker) for day paddling (2-5 paddlers) to try something different and to have a more "sociable" craft (also these are light enough for the two of us to car top I think). I have no experience moving rafts through the water (and never rowed), so is there any reason for a beginner paddle rafter to go with one design over the other -- Otter-based Revolution vs. "sportier" (more rockered) Osprey? (For example, would the Osprey be more flip prone?) I assume either one could also be paddled by just the two of us sometimes.
Thanks for your thoughts!
Boats & Inflatables > Rafts > NRS Revolution Rafts at NRSweb.com

·
Registered
184 Posts
It's more a matter of preference with those 2 choices. The Osprey could actually be likely to be less prone to flipping, as it's 4" wider and the extra rocker will make it take big waves better.

OTOH, with a 15" longer flat section, the Revolution will definitely track better whereas the Osprey will turn better with its shorter warerline. The shorter waterline will make it easier for 2 people to control the boat, but require more paddle strokes to keep it straight.
I'd get the Osprey unless a longer frame to carry more gear is important.
If you expect to have 4+ people most of the time a 13 footer might be a better choice

·
Registered
85 Posts
I own the 13.5' osprey and it is very sporty,and i highly recomend it.in big water it is very stable and manuverable and it tracks very well, trust me get the osprey you will love it!

·
Registered
86 Posts
Both Good