Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Collective,

Who out there runs an E-160? I'm looking for a gear boat. I've been boating for the past 30 years, I've rowed NRS boats, but never owned one.

Anyone have some long-term thoughts/reviews on the NRS E-160? I'd set it up as a multi-day rig. I prefer a 3 bay frame with a trailer frame behind me. That way I can be more centered on the boat-faster pivoting, more stable when dropping into holes or massive waves.

Yes, I've read all the other threads on this boat I can find, but there really isn't much- looking for some fresh perspectives.

·
Registered
441 Posts
What do you want to know about them? I would say the main advantage of the NRS E series is durability. The material seems to be tougher and more uv resistant that just about anything else. They will also roll better than other plastic boats. I even like the NRS rubber better than Hyside, but that is just my experience. If you really want performance, you might look into a polyurethane boat like sotar or wing. Those will come at an even higher price. They will be tougher to roll, but they will get stiffer with a lower inflation pressure.

The only down side that i can see to an E series is the lack of a drop stich floor option and the PRV valve that you have to constantly clean to keep from bubbling.

·
Registered
314 Posts
I've found the E material to be surprisingly soft and prone to easy rubs down to the scrim material. For instance I have a 150E that is a 2016 and has 5 or so wear patches, but my 156R aire is a 2008 with significantly more miles and no rubs, or patches. I like the ability to roll the nrs much easier buts to me that is the only advantage.

·
Registered
993 Posts