Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My only whitewater experience is Class 3 in a huge raft on a guided tour... in other words, I have no whitewater experience.

I want to cross a local creek that's flowing at 400 CFS and about 6' max depth (ie, it's too deep for waders). Is there a reasonable way to cross it in an inflatable?

I'm hoping someone with experience can advise me

1. Is this a reasonable idea?
  2. What training should I undertake (if any) before attempting this?
  3. What is my best bet for a reasonably-priced one-man raft for me and 30 lbs of gear? (This is next to the road, so weight is not an issue.)
If it matters, this is for Clear Creek canyon west of Golden Colorado.

·
Super Moderator
3,906 Posts
Jake,

It sounds like you're considering crossing Clear Creek in Clear Creek Canyon. Depending on where you go, you are considering a potentially fatal swim in ice-cold water in anywhere between Class II and Class V rapids. If you've never swam a rapid, it's easy to underestimate the power of moving water and swimming that kind of water is strongly discouraged even with the proper gear.

You may want to check out packrafts. These open up a whole new world for hikers. Otherwise, you may be able to arrange a ferry across with some boaters in a raft.

Good luck and be safe,

-AH

·
Registered
297 Posts
Are you looking for hidden treasure?

With this year's "snowpack", if you wait a couple weeks, the river bed will probably be burning along with the rest of the state so time your adventure carefully. ;)

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Jake,