Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm new to the Denver area, and have just bought two Jackson Rouge kayaks. Want a decent place to check them out with fast water, say class III/II and a decent length 10 - 15 miles. And relatively close to the Denver area. Planning on going next week, probably Monday or Tuesday, if anyone would like to join.

Thanks

Jeff

·
Registered
2 Posts
The south platte run through Denver is a great place to try the new boats out. Put in at c470 near Santa Fe and you take it all the way to downtown Denver. You even pass a few play parks along the way.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Digby,

So, from google maps it looks like S. Platte ends in lake Chatfield and then starts again just North of the Lake and a bit South of 470. I couldn't find anything marked "Santa Fe". Is that a road or park?

·
Registered
329 Posts
I second the post about yaks. If you say yaks, I probably don't want to boat with you for several reasons

Sent from my iPhone using Mountain Buzz

·
Intern, get me a Campari.
34 Posts
I clicked this thread just to see the Buzz folk's reaction to the usage of the word 'yaks.

·
Registered
152 Posts
Hi all,

I'm new to the Denver area, and have just bought two Jackson Rouge kayaks. Want a decent place to check them out with fast water, say class III/II and a decent length 10 - 15 miles. And relatively close to the Denver area. Planning on going next week, probably Monday or Tuesday, if anyone would like to join.

Thanks

Jeff
Jeff, if you are new to kayaking, I wouldn't recommend jumping into Class III on the Front Range unless you have a roll and have worked your way up to that level. You will probably lose your boat and bang your head and it may ruin you on Kayaking, which, even though the Buzz is giving you a hard time about calling your boats "yaks", no one here wants.