Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First a bit about me. I'm 6'3" and weigh about 115kg. I spend most of my water time paddling flat water as I am an instructor but I am going to college next year to do a course in outdoor education so I will be upgrading to larger water (3-4). I have a few runs on 3s and 4s under my belt and feel confident in my skills but I do need a new boat as I have grown out of my InaZone. (I actually grew out of it years ago but could part with it) now I need a new boat that is going to be comfortable enough to sit in all day to teach and lounge about, have enough room to do small trips, be forgiving enough to help me learn big water properly but not so forgiving that I'm gonna bounce over everything.

I looked at a number of boats

Stomper 90
Mamba 8.6
Burn L
D Series
Among other and I'd kinda settled on the stomper. The new bad ass outfitting would be and is exceptionally comfy, it looks awesome and all the reviews pointed to it be an all round awesome boat. The guy in the store however mentioned that this is a 4-5 boat and maybe a bit overkill for my requirements. So I am back to the to the drawing board.

I originally leaned towards the mamba. Dagger is a reasonably priced and trustworthy brand and the mamba is well liked. Not a huge fan of the burn and the Jackson range are just too expensive.

Any ideas guys. I know the only way to know for sure is to demo but are there any options that I have forgotten.

Cheers in advance

Tom

·
Registered
79 Posts