Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m just getting into raft ownership and I have the grand idea of buying a raft trailer that can also be used occasionally for mulch, soil, or furniture. Is this a crazy idea or do multi purpose trailers exist? It doesn’t need to be perfect but if I’m going to spend the money I would like options.

While we are on the subject, what is your favorite style of trailer and why?

·
Registered
110 Posts
Welcome to the world of raft ownership. I was in this position about 10 years ago and now I own 3 trailers to take care of various tasks. There are a lot of factors that go into this like; raft size, tow vehicle, raft storage, gear storage, and if you decide to haul your boat inflated. I am fortunate enough to be able to store my raft inflated on "it's" trailer in the garage. I built this trailer from an old camping trailer and it worked fine until I had to buy a new truck. The tailgate of the new truck will not clear the winch stand and so I have to unhook the trailer to open the tailgate to unload the coolers, dry boxes and other gear in the bed of the truck. This is a real hassle on a slanted boat ramp. To solve this, I bought another trailer with a longer tongue so the tailgate clears the winch stand. It also has side rails tall enough that will allow me to store gear under an inflated boat leaving my truck bed open for camping. I still need to make some modifications to this trailer like; rollers and cross beams to support an inflated raft. I like the ability to store all the big gear under the raft. I did not have this option with my other trailer. Since I bought all these trailers used and did my own modifications, I would say I have around $3,200 invested in trailers. Good luck. A raft trailer sure makes launching and de-rigging a lot easier.

·
Registered
4,482 Posts
You can have a trailer that is a compromise for everything or perfect for 1-2 things.