Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
The Russian
1,389 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Trying to do some research before buying one:

1. Which shaft? The tubes on the boat are 22", so would a shaft of 20" work or do I need to go with a 25" ultra long shaft?
2. How to store a 4 stroke motor? Prop it on it's bracket and throw a line around it or do I need to store it somewhere else during rapids? (Class 3-4)
3. Does anyone have any experience with Tohatsu/Nissan motors? Tohatsu Outboards 6 Horsepower
4. Any other suggestions are welcome, a total motor newbie here.

Thanks,
Alex

·
Registered
536 Posts
How are you planning on mounting? A bracket off the end of a round boat? On the frame of a cat? Between 2 round boats? That affects size and storage. The little I've done with motors on round boats, they've always been stowed in a drop hatch during rapids. One of these days I'll get a motor for my cat, and I think it will be okay just propped up but I haven't tried it yet.

Curious what other people think.

·
Registered
350 Posts
Funny, Alex, I just recently started doing research on this as well... please keep us updated on what you find out.

Has anyone ever tried mounting a motor off the side of the raft... it wouldn't be pushing in line exactly, but I've seen this done on alum boats before.

DanCan

·
Boy Howdy!
1,064 Posts
Jeez, last weekends wind event has alot of people thinking about motors. I plan on making a removable transom that will attatch to my frame with the same aluminum i used to buil the frame and t fittings

·
Registered
18 Posts
Herdsire

I would recomend the Yamaha lightweight series in either the 4hp or 6hp models for your application. I fish about 100 days a year have had excellent performance with every Yamaha I have had on my fishing boat.