Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife and I have secured the whole month of may off from our jobs. I feel like a kid in a candy store. What should we do? Any trips we can tag along with. I have done the high sierra class V+ classics in a kayak, and done more than a few oar boat class IV's in a raft. The best raft runs have their permits full. I have access to all sorts of gear, including rafts and all the required multiday accouterments if required. We are also able to pay for catered/rental services. Looking for some great long desert trip groups to hitch up with. We are both 30 years old. I am an experienced boatman and engineer, and my wife is a family practice and ER Physician. Please let me know if you have any trip ideas for us!

Thanks,

Jake

·
Registered
362 Posts
There are 4 or 5 permits open on Recreation.gov right now for May launches on Deso/Gray Green River. You cant go wrong with that. An early Main Salmon trip would rock too.

·
Registered
688 Posts
I don't have any permits, but I totally have the first couple weeks of May wide open. You are more than welcome to come down to AZ, pick me and my boat up and take me on any river that will float my 14'er. I just have to be back by the 15th. ;)

All kidding aside, I hope you find a good trip and have a great time.

·
Beginner
2,470 Posts
Loma to Hite on the Colorado would be a sweet way to spend a couple weeks. Hookup with other groups for Westwater and Cataract rapids. You could even bring mountain bikes along and do a multi-day layover and overnight ride in Canyonlands!

·
Registered
778 Posts
Loma to Hite on the Colorado would be a sweet way to spend a couple weeks. Hookup with other groups for Westwater and Cataract rapids. You could even bring mountain bikes along and do a multi-day layover and overnight ride in Canyonlands!
Actually, according to the gubmint, it is illegal to transport bikes on the river through Canyonlands.