Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im a middle school teacher who guides commercially in colorado during the summer, and im getting ready to approach my school administration about starting the tradition of an 8th grade extended field trip on the river. the potential for using a river corridor for a classroom focusing on ecology, hydraulics, history, geology, etc. is too much to continue to ignore- and the kids i teach need more exposure to the outdoors.
what do you think would be the best stretch for such a trip? these are 8th graders (about 13 years old) and we're leaving from idaho springs. things that come to mind immediately are ruby/horsethief (although perhaps a bit too short and not real scenic), deso/gray, labyrinth and stillwater. i've never done labyrinth or stillwater.

ideas or advice, please??

·
Registered
133 Posts
bth,

If you need more info/help on the logistics/insurance liability part of it I may be able to help. I take students rock climbing, Mtn Biking, mountaineering, rafting/kayaking within my school district.

Rob

·
Registered
22 Posts
I do this yearly for a high school group and an 8th grade group. You must organize this trip commercially according to Colorado State Parks. I will PM you with details. That's great that you are doing this! I think all schools here in Colorado should encourage learning like this!

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
bth,

If you need more info/help on the logistics/insurance liability part of it I may be able to help. I take students rock climbing, Mtn Biking, mountaineering, rafting/kayaking within my school district.

Rob
thanks, rob. i'd be interested in knowing about the liability/insurance side of things more than anything else. do you have a form that you might email to me?

bhochmuth at gmail dot com

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #7