Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, here's a topic that I've yet to see on the buzz...

It's been my observsation that the quality of developed WW features tends to degrade over time. Not being a hydrologist or engineer, I would assume that rocks shift and sediment accummulates downstream causing a change in the gradient and/or nature of the feature.

This gradual degradation obviously affects the quality of the experience, and thus ultimately impacts the tourism dollars derived from river development. I believe that municipalities spend money on developing river features not to appease local boaters but to broaden their tourism base. But marketing strategies of WW features for municipalities is a whole other issue...

So anyway, my questions are:

1. Who typically assumes responsibility for the maintenance of WW features?
2. Does the WW park developer assume any responsibility if rocks shift, thus affecting the feature?
3. Do municipalities typically bugdet funds for WW feature upkeep?
4. Do WW park developers advise municipalities, prior to construction, about the caring and maintenance of their WW features?

Just curious what ya'll think.

·
Registered
178 Posts
I know in steamboat the park falls under the parks and rec. dept. When the D-hole fell in they used money from the maintenance fund to fix it, just as if a fence had fallen down at the baseball fields or if picnic tables needed to be replaced.

I am not sure, but I think Gary Lacy and his crew came back to help with the reconstruction and I believe they did that at no cost, but not sure about that.

I think the responsibility should fall on the city/municipality who built the park - it is a city park that adds to the amenities of anytown. As for the designer, I think they should stand by their work and help to fix it if it falls, but rivers are a dynamic situation and are constantly changing for better or worse.

Zach.

·
Registered
807 Posts