Mountain Buzz banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
907 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I know the fued but lets hear the pros/cons. They both have good qualities but i want to hear some of the less heard qualities. Im a beginner kayaker and was thinking a raft would be fun
so I decided it would be fun to see what comes up
Luke

·
Registered
89 Posts
I enjoy both. In the spring and early summer, I use my creek boat for the adrenaline and adventure that i crave, and then I use my raft for the longer overnighters in the summer. Now that I am older (24) I find appreciation in having my own rig on the river with everything i need: beer, water, food, herb, etc. and rowing some nice III+ IV water, (Westwater, Cat, Hells Canyon type shit) seeing as how I am not an BV pro, is a huge rush. Completely different high than a kayak. I say, learn to kayak and rafting will be easy. You can always bring along the XXX for the killin' play.

·
Premium Member
3,408 Posts
Due to recent threads I am going to say rafts. Sounds like fun.

·
Super Moderator
2,850 Posts
Definately need both. Obviously kayaking is WAAAY cooler. you can always run much haarder stuff in a kayak and the logistics are so much simpler.

As alacy1 said rafts have there place too.

Great to be able to pack it all and not have to defend what you brought along to the uppity rafter who is carrying your shit.

Much more comfortable for long periods on the water, and much better place to have a drink holder and an umbrella in the dessert.

I don't overlook the challenge of rowing a heavy raft through slightly difficult whitewater either. If you are a decent kayaker, rowing is much more of a challenge and keeps it interesting on easier water, provided there is not tons of play to miss out on.

Honestly one of the worst parts of rafting is all the cleaning and the putting away of stuff that seems to linger on for half a week after a trip.

·
Registered
301 Posts