Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i know this is mostly a co forum, but was curious if any of you have kayaked some of the rivers out east. i live in asheville nc, and have heard things about the green river. i was wondering if any of you have heard about this river, or better yet, run it. i'm new to kayaking, and soon hope to persue it more seriously. i know that a lot of the companies (dagger, perception) are based near here, so i just assumed there would be some good kayaking nearby.

·
Premium Member
1,890 Posts
By the way- for all you COlorado boaters, Leland has put together a great CCR-esque guidebook (with Gordon's help). Grab a copy from AW's website and start planning your trip. He really did a great job, and the book highlights what a fantastic area this is.

http://www.nccreeks.com/

·
Spits Hot Fire
978 Posts
Word to that, I just got a copy of NCRC and the friggin thing is like crack, I can't put it down. Such a good book, amazing pics!! So yeah, to answer your question, go get a copy of the North Carolina Rivers & Creeks book, it'll tell ya everyting you need to know.

·
Registered
882 Posts
Boatertalk.com is a better place for beta on the SE. You probably live in of the three best boating places in the US (Fayetteville and Hood River being the probable others). Since you are new, I presume you area talking about the Lower Green - I've never done it, but I've seen lots of tubers putting in where we take out for the Narrows.