Mountain Buzz banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Water Surfboard Sports equipment Boats and boating--Equipment and supplies Watercraft
Hey everyone, I’ve been reading topics for a couple days, and have gained a lot of insight. Thanks! I have a lot of whitewater sup experience, mostly day trips in the NW, along with a raft support MF salmon and a few lower salmon self-support sup trips. I’m trying to get my wife and 2 kids on the lower salmon before they leave the house, so I just picked up a used 16’ Aire Lion Cat, and am trying to figure out how to outfit it. It came with a 120” x 72” nrs frame with 5 bays and 10’ cataract oars, and four big swivel chairs that I will sell. Leaning towards a canyon prospector cooler and vittle vaults for dry box. Drop bags and everything bag for random stuff. I’ve heard a round boat might be better for family hauling, but I like how easy it will be to put on or two of my sups across the tail of the tubes for the crux rapids, and can let the fam float the easy stuff in sups. It might just be one trip a year (I still like my sup self-support trips) so I’m not wanting throw a ton of money at it. I’m an over analyzer, so I enjoy hearing ideas from others. Thanks for any input you all might have.

- Alan

Plant Sky Motor vehicle Mountain Tree

Wood Gas Composite material Landscape Track

·
Registered
658 Posts
Awesome purchase. That rig will haul a bunch of gear and it will totally do what you have in mind. Your plans for drop bags etc are right on as is you instinct to ditch those friggin chairs. WTF are those??? How much stick time do you have? That’s a big boat and a lot to handle especially in wind so take it out and get used to it before you do a Selway or MF or any class 3 + for that matter. Enjoy, that’s a bad ass unit.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·