Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the kayaking scene and am looking at boats. I can paddle class 4 but dont yet own a kayak yet would this be a good option?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Mountain Buzz mobile app

·
Registered
1,706 Posts
the fun series from Jackson are great choices for river play. I paddle a super fun on class 3-4 rivers and big water. They are fun to surf, spin and cart wheel. They squirt and stall, pirouette and all.

It is a great boat, it will depend on how well you fit and your thoughts after you've paddled one.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I borrow a kayak from my buddies on long trips or demo a kayak for day runs

·
Registered
708 Posts
Yes on the Fun

The Fun series is a great all around kayak. I'd suggest you pick up 2nd generation (2007) or newer. I use a SuperFun for 98% of the kayaking I do, class II-IV.

·
Registered
250 Posts
Yay, great boat.. Perhaps the single best boat you can buy for the type of paddling you want to do.

But for more challenging class IV rapids, many people might prefer a bigger boat (creekboat.)

·
Registered
1,589 Posts
Great down river boat.
I just bought one myself
Outfitting fits like a slipper and performs like a running shoe

Sent from my iPhone using Mountain Buzz

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Is it true that as I grow in my skill, I will rather have a creekboat and a playboat?

·
Registered
312 Posts
I just get the feeling that he has over estimated his skill level. He's only demoed and borrowed kayaks in the past, but seems to be ready for Class 5? I'm not sure what to think.

·
Registered
218 Posts
Fun Series

Certainly if you are looking to step up to more class 5 you will need a bigger volume boat than the fun series. That being said I have run my Superfun down Gore but did kinda feel like I was getting my butt kicked & only did it once :)