Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
342 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've heard rumors that the Selway River in Idaho is runnable above the permit section. Does anyone know about this? If it is, that would mean there could be a good 20 miles of road side permit-free Selway that people arn't taking advantage of. Thanks for the info.
Curtis

·
Registered
328 Posts
Never paddled it before. But the road on the way to the put in for the permit section follows the Selway for several miles, and from what I've seen, it looks good to go. The parts that I have seen look to be around class IV-IV+. Don't know how much water will be in there this year though.

·
Registered
331 Posts
(All mileage estimates in the following post are based on 2 year old memory)

I've only been there once, so I'm not an expert of the area, so take this for what it's worth, but I do have one loooong weekend experience with the area.

I would say that only a few miles of the upstream area are safely runnable. A few "creeks" enter at the upper part. Some of these creeks run in the thousands of cfs. The biggest probably is whitecap creek. So, by the time you get 10 + miles upstream, it's reletively small, (compared to it's downstream size), and gets fairly choked with wood. The trees in the area are huge, over 100 feet tall, so when one (or several) of those babies falls into the river, it's often from bank to bank in that upper area.