Mountain Buzz banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have a late May middle fork trip coming up and looking for some advice on raft selection & loading a raft for this river at high water - assuming we can get into the river. It's with a group where all are experienced on the middle fork and some have years of experience at high water - so not like that other thread... Am a comfortable class IV rower, including experience on the middle fork, but that was a lower water so have no illusions this will be a very different beast. Hoping to get some input on a couple of things - raft size and loading. This will be my first time rowing a boat without passengers - river's going to be too rowdy to bring any family passengers when I'm not experienced on MF at high water.

First question is raft selection - have a 14'6" Saturn and a 16' hyside pro XT. Hyside is about 10-11 inches wider than the Saturn. Would you go with the bigger boat in this water?

Second question might be influenced by the first - recommendations for how to load up a raft under these conditions. Would you keep most of the weight as near centerline as possible for maneuverability or throw weight toward the front for punching? Drybox and cooler will go into the two front bays & drybox will be heavier than the cooler. Since it's just me on the raft, plan to have oarlocks at or just a touch (< 10 inches) back from centerline. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Big, heavy, loaded evenly and as low as possible.

Punch the holes(Not Murph's!) And giggle like a schoolgirl the whole way!
Thanks! What do you mean by low, like make it heavy? Without passengers and their gear, raft will be way lighter than have ever rowed before. Maybe fill some water containers for extra weight and lash them in?

Edit - get it now for low - keep weight as low in the raft as possible.

·
Super Moderator
4,505 Posts