Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, newbie here looking for a little input on buying my first boat.

Without reading a wall of text, I'm basically looking for a 14' - 14' 6" boat to build out as an oar rig for 3-7 day trips on the Idaho rivers. I've narrowed it down so far to the 4 boats below and I've provided a lot more background afterwards if you don't mind a novella.

• Maravia Williwaw
  • Maravia Willy-Willy
  • Maravia New Wave 3
  • AIRE 146DD
I went on my first rafting trip with a good friend of mine 4 years ago on Hells Canyon and got hooked. I did a good bit of rowing on the final day of that trip through some of the small water just to get a feel for the oars. I came back the next year for a trip down the lower Deschutes and was able to borrow an AIRE 156D to run on my own. Stepped up to running the Lower Salmon (Vinegar Creek to Lucille) the year after that in a borrowed Spider. Then, this year, I ran the same Spider down Hells Canyon. So 4 total "years" of experience, but really only 4 total trips and I was mostly a passenger for one of those.