Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a complete novice in WW Kayaking. I am just getting started and trying to get the last of my gear together. Right now I am paddling sans-helmet on I and II+.

I need a helmet for a larger head. I have to wear a XXL motorcycle helmet or a 7 3/4 fitted hat if that helps. Most of the time, it is a bite in the front and back, the width is not the issue.

Any suggestions? I have tried several, Shred Ready is a no go.

Thanks for the help from a newby.

·
Registered
1,954 Posts
google ski helmets, they offer xxl and xxxl. I have been using them to kayak for many years. The european ski helmets are certified to a much higher standard than any of the US kayak helmets or at least all the US kayak helmets I have looked at.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I will check that out. Thanks.
The liners won't absorb water? I looked at a hockey helmet out of curiosity, but the one I looked at looked like it would be a sponge.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Check out the Shred Ready Tdub helmet. Or the Sweet Rocker Full Face; Sweet Protection | Helmets

The Tdub runs a little larger than the Sweets, but both are good size. I have a huge head and last year had that + ton of hair and the Tdub fit well, stayed snug.

·
Registered
1,023 Posts
Redman,

I have the same problem you do. I have tried on many helmets, and the Predator Lee helmet has been the only one I've found that fits without having to cutout foam.

Predator Lee Helmet

note - I paid a bit less than CKS is selling them for, but I had make a journey to WV to get it.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Check out the Shred Ready Tdub helmet. Or the Sweet Rocker Full Face; Sweet Protection | Helmets

The Tdub runs a little larger than the Sweets, but both are good size. I have a huge head and last year had that + ton of hair and the Tdub fit well, stayed snug.