Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

New guy here. Been lingering around for a bit searching reviews and past discussions. Helped me decide on my "new" setup (Otter 130 w/ NRS Frame).

I was thinking about taking it up to Gray's Reef from Denver for a weekend of fishing. Most pics I see from Gray's are from drift boats, and not many rafts. I suppose it is because of the wind factor up there. Just wondering if you guys think it will be worth it to make that trip. I really just want to get the boat wet, adjust the frame, get used to being at the oars, etc. I'm a rookie at this. I've float fished before, but never manned the oars. Been paddling in the Royal Gorge and Browns Canyon and Upper CO a couple of times in duckies.

Also, as a side. I was wondering if any experienced oarsman would be interested in showing me tips and tricks, reading water as a guide one day on the Upper C or Arkansas. I'd do most of the paddling, and you could just fish and show me the way of the river. (Or should I just go for it?) Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
78 Posts
Plenty of rafts run the Reef. You are right that most people use drift boats but that is becuase most are guides and they are on the water every day. If you are a private boater and want more options the only rivers suited to hard boats a raft is a good option.

Nothing stopping you on that river when it comes to a raft. Yes wind is a MAJOR issue for both rafts and hard boats. A low riding hard boat will do much better in the wind then a raft but does not mean a raft is a no go.