Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After all the tradegy this year on the river I am rethinking our Grand Canyon trip in March. We have 2 kids who will be almost 11 and 13 and we have a permit for March of 2010. My husband and I have plenty of rafting experience -Cataract, Salt, Shoshone, Westwater, Yampa, Ladore, Desolation, Blue, Colorado (never on the Grand though), the group has had plenty of experience including several Grand Trips and the kids have done the Yampa, Ladore, Desolation, Upper C and Blue and my oldest did Shoshone at high water. The oldest has taken many swims, including Shoeshone at high water and kayaks. The youngest however, has only had one not so bad swim on Ladore and walked Warm Springs at High Water. I plan on having them completed outfitted with dry gear, helmets and of course PFD's and they are taking swimming lessons. The Grand is a trip of the lifetime and we have always wanted to do it as a family-but I am a bit nervous this year. I am seeking opinions from those who have been on trip as to what they think, especially if they have gone with kids.
Thanks so much!

·
no tengo
1,871 Posts
I was on a trip with some kids - one 11 year old. He did great. His dad flipped in Crystal which is pretty much the worst swim and everything was all good. Don't let it stop you.

·
Registered
154 Posts
For what it's worth, at the company I work for our minimum age is 12. That's pretty common for row trips. On a motor trip I did, we had an 8 year old. I think they'll be ok as long as they are as prepared as they can be, and you are as well. It sounds like you've got the experience and so does the rest of your crew.

·
Registered
371 Posts
If you have good warm gear (the water is cold) and a good high floatation pfd go for it. All the big drops are easily scouted and walkable. It is such a wonderful place and so few get to do it as a private. As always its your call

·
Registered
17 Posts