Mountain Buzz banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Honestly, I applied for the 2021 GC lottery as more of a lark. I mean, what are the chances your first time entering, EVER? Well apparently....

I picked a small, 8 person group permit up. (5/30/21) I have not seen much discussion about small group permits. Is 2 18' boats adequate? I will have to rent as my boat is a 14'.

My other, insane idea is to invite 4 to join us that have also never been down before.

Yes, yes I know I am a noob. And yes, I know after drawing a Main this year and a GC for next year my user name is ruined. But I would love any sage advice for a small group trip.

·
Registered
358 Posts
Well you had better change your user name STAT! Congratulations.

We're going this May and are renting three boats for the party of 8, two just seems too cozy. We have all our own gear but have elected to rent 18 footers, most gear and do the full food pack etc. with Ceiba. Just don't want to wrangle stuff for that long even though we have done a couple of 20 day trips on the Salmon. We are old and getting lazy :)

I'm super stoked for the small group, been on large group trips a couple of times and they were awesome but to be with just the people we regularly boat with will be extra special.

·
Registered
613 Posts
Yep 3 18' rafts. I assume you have an experienced GC trip leader. Great time of year to go.

·
Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I might take you up on that Mathew. Sounds like 3 boats is more practical, which I guessed. I have a family of 4, so that means say 2 groups of 2, or a family of 3 and an individual to fill out .....One place where small group gets a little complicated for sure.

No experienced GC trip leader. The idea is to possibly take 4 more down that have never been before, and discover the canyon together for the first time. So 2 more rowers with river experience, but like me have never hit the Grand Canyon.

·
Registered
289 Posts