Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
394 Posts
"That was a full Maytag circle jerk!"

I'm new to rowing but you'd better believe I'd come into a rapid named Maytag with some steam.

This hurt to watch why were they not able to grab a throw bag and get yanked out?

·
Registered
1,743 Posts

I'm new to rowing but you'd better believe I'd come into a rapid named Maytag with some steam.

This hurt to watch why were they not able to grab a throw bag and get yanked out?
Its actually Tappan Falls on the Middle Fork... but Tappan certainly gave them a maytagging.

I'm sure they would have appreciated a throw bag or something...but people decided to watch from shore and make comments while shooting video rather then help the guys out.

I heard one guy had a couple of broken ribs.

The rapid has a REALLY easy setup with flatwater above, a big eddy to boat scout from on river right, and a fairly clear tongue to run down. The guys who got Maytagged even had a few boats to follow that did the correct line. Not sure why they went over there.

That said, on my last trip down we had a few guys go over that same spot, but they didn't get Maytagged. They definitely scared themselves though and it got kinda flippy but no carnage.

Edit: Watched the whole thing again after seeing it a year or two ago... looks like they followed the pink cataraft into the hole. I agree that attempts at getting a rope to them certainly was not as enthusiastic nor accurate as it could have been.

·
Registered
1,024 Posts
Remember when you see someone taking a beating...thats probably one less applicant for permits. Protect the resource, laugh at the beaters.

·
Registered
394 Posts

Its actually Tappan Falls on the Middle Fork... but Tappan certainly gave them a maytagging.
They definitely got the spin cycle. Would they have been able to punch through it if they came in with some momentum?

·
Registered
64 Posts
Piss poor throw bag skills......
Read and run gone wrong!