Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am fairly new to rafting and recently went on my first trip with my raft and frame down the Yampa. unfortunately when I got home I noticed the frame wore gouges into my rubber. I have a 13' RMR with a DRE Gunnison Frame. There are no burrs on the frame fittings. could it be that I stapped the frame on too tight, or not tight enough? Could it be that stacking the rafts on the trailer could have caused this? Either way my plan is to add patches to the worn areas, but I would like to know how to avoid this in the future. Thanks.

Attachments

·
Registered
546 Posts
Looks like you had a little play in your straps, I'd wager it happened during trailering if you had boats stacked, I've seen similar from just half an hour of bouncing multiples on a trailer.

·
Registered
1,996 Posts
I too think it happened during trailering. From personal experience I put something between the boat and anything metal during transport. Duct tape on the fittings that rub on the boat would suffice.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the input guys. I'll take better care trailering in the future.

Do you guys strap frame to trailer or raft (D rings) to trailer?

·
Premium Member
1,353 Posts
Straps frame to trailer IMHO. If stacking I go frame to trailer than frame to frame for stacked boats

·
Registered
469 Posts
Straps frame to trailer IMHO. If stacking I go frame to trailer than frame to frame for stacked boats
Same here. I've towed a stack of four (mine on the bottom) hundreds of miles including over kidney jarring roads with no issues using this method. I once inflicted similar wear (albeit in a different spot) when I strapped a kayak onto the frame too close to the raft's bow.

·
Premium Member
1,353 Posts
Either way my plan is to add patches to the worn areas, but I would like to know how to avoid this in the future. Thanks.[/QUOTE]