Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
329 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The forest service answered my email today saying that the 4 Rivers permit calendars were now available. Good luck all

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Mountain Buzz mobile app

·
Registered
3,344 Posts
The 4 Rivers permit lottery applications started Dec. 1st. I got my "wishlist" in last Tuesday. Fingers & toes crossed!

·
Registered
44 Posts
I don't know if anyone will divulge any secrets, but how do I get on the Middle Fork?? I have been applying every year for 10 years with no luck. Why wont they go to a lottery or waitlist system?

I know you have a good chance if you go early or late season, but is it pure luck to get on in June?

·
Registered
3,344 Posts
Why wont they go to a lottery or waitlist system?
It is a lottery system for the Middle Fork. Pure luck of the draw. There is a wait list of sorts if you keep an eye on rec.gov for cancellations.

A weighted lottery has been discussed, but so far has not been implemented. The pros & cons with that system have been debated here on Mountain Buzz extensively in the past.

·
Registered
2,207 Posts
I cant believe people are applying already.. We still have two months of snowfall to observe..
I'm pretty sure were not going to know shit about the snowpack until April , may or even June this year! I forsee a very stressfull spring full of gnashing of teeth and wringing of hands.

·
Registered
1,672 Posts
Last year the trick to increase your odds was to apply after the close date. The ppl who applied in the 24 hours after the close date/time had a the best odds of drawing in 2015. But who knew??

I've tried so many different approaches that I think its all luck.

·
Registered
708 Posts