Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
1,235 Posts
Interesting that he would call out Evan. Maybe they are starting to realize that over-the-top partying doesn't mix with high level first descents.

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
The site is called Unsponsored because as primarily a review site I do not accept offers from Kayak related companies to endorse their kit. I aim to provide the paddle community with something they might like to read and get something out of.

In reality all professional kayakers are supported or sponsored some how. I dont see this being an issue.

·
Registered
5,507 Posts
Professional kayaker is a word that should disappear.. Unless your ego needs that extra word honestly.. I'm pro boys time to crush that sugar bush nasty style... I am a professional life liver boys and gals, love yah all having fun is enough for me. Pain is pleasure

·
Registered
795 Posts
Sheesh....only the Buzz. Most, if not all, other sports celebrate and respect their professional, sponsored athletes. But not kayakers and Buzz members...NOOO. Why does the word "sponsored" get such a rise out of people?

Or maybe it's just the Buzz. No wonder very few professionals grace this site with their presence. They'd get blasted and labeled "sell outs" because they're sponsored.

Is it because this site is loaded with peeps that are just as rad and hardcore?

·
Registered
4,607 Posts
I don't think it's that. I think it has more to do with the pervasive culture associated with "professional" kayakers, think BDP and Sturgis pissing on the Stikine sign, among other examples I'm not going to dive into. Trashy, not worthy of enhanced respect, at least mine.

·
Cpt. No Scout
517 Posts
I don't think it's that. I think it has more to do with the pervasive culture associated with "professional" kayakers, think BDP and Sturgis pissing on the Stikine sign, among other examples I'm not going to dive into. Trashy, not worthy of enhanced respect, at least mine.