Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
526 Posts
I've been using one off and on for quite a few years now. It is a fantastic device, just replace the filter when the outflow slows down.

I have used it in clear running rivers out west, and back east with out any issues.

·
Registered
1,018 Posts
After having an epic and running out of water once, I never paddle without one on anything but roadside runs. You never know when you are going to have to hike out or spend the night. They are indispencable for wilderness runs in my opinion.

·
Registered
1,523 Posts
A few thoughts on water treatment:

Filters can be very sensitive to below freezing temps. Some filters will fail after freezing. Most boaters wouldn't care, but i've heard deepsouth boofs peguins.

Iodine tablets are an attractive alternative for emergency use and really easy to carry. If you can handle a warm PBR, idodine water ain't much worse. Iodine is less effective at cold temps and requires either a higher dose or longer contact time, read the instructions.

Finally, there are some clear water creeks in Colorado that have high heavy metals and other toxins. As far as I know, only activated carbon filters help with heavy metals.

·
Registered
169 Posts
I always forget to fill my water bottle because I'm an airhead, but I always have my Katadyn bottle with me, and have used it all season on just about every river/creek I've been in. Sometimes clear, sometimes muddy, but always refreshing. I haven't been sick yet, so I'd say it's working well.

P. S. Dan...despite all of Andrews begging, I have restrained from putting a certain picture up on mountainbuzz.

·
I'm right 50% of the time
899 Posts