Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry couldn't resist the Chris Farley reference. I'm new to the sport and my instructor recommended a river runner for my first boat. But I'm 5'7 and 200 lbs and have noticed its not the ideal body type for whitewater kayaking. I was looking into the zen series from Jackson, but read a lot of posts about how at the upper weight levels they can be more difficult. Can you folks recommend a good 1st boat for my body type. Sorry, I'm sure you get 1000 posts like this but I'm really enjoying this sport and want to make sure I have the right equipment!

·
Banned
678 Posts
welcome. Where are you planning on paddling whitewater near Chicago? (I'm originally from there). Ideally you want to be in the middle range of the weight recommendation, for river/creek boats you have plenty of options. I'm 6'1 200lbs and playboats are they only boat that's more difficult to choose because at our weight we're either at the very top of the weight range or way down.

I'd try to demo

Liquid Logic Remix 69
Jackson Super Hero
Maybe even a Medium Pyranha Burn

Like I said though, if you're paddling around chicago you probably don't want a white water boat...

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
They have some ww parks near Chi- east race, yorkville and wasau. Most club members of CWA make trips. Thanks so much for the input.

·
Abron Cabron
611 Posts
SuperHero & Superstar :mrgreen:
you will not regret either. btw, I am very similar h&W stats- 5'7 230lbs.... Both are the best boat of their category i have ever had. seriously JK are great learning boats.(pretty freaking awesome intermediate/expert boats too) easy to roll, forgiving, etc.... i think i have gone on about them once or twice here...

4fun is a great riverplay boat, i.e less aggressive beginning playboat. you will fit in that one fine.
the Monstar/superfun would be too big. JK weight categories are generous for the larger boats.