Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:D I am a total beginner looking for an easy early season river to run. I just got back from Moab and took my boat on the Colorado River Daily section and now I'm too excited to wait for the Poudre to run, any suggestions?

·
Premium Member
1,890 Posts
Someone posted not too long ago that the new Pueblo kayak park on the Arkansas is running- sounds like a good place to work on rolls, peel-outs and eddy turns.

The Grizzly Creek section below Shoshone would be a good option- no problem with self rescue there.

If you have a couple of folks with you to babysit, keep an eye on the Northgate Canyon flows after you get a few runs under your belt- there are a couple of rapids in there, but nthing huge at low water.

·
Premium Member
3,408 Posts
They turned the water down low in Pueblo to do some fine tuning. Not sure if it is back on.

·
Premium Member
3,408 Posts
Looks like it is still low but it would still be a place with low risk and some learning potential.

·
Registered
253 Posts
At one point there were ice bridges across the entire river on the Grizzly run below No Name. I usually don't pay attention to this area, but I specifically remember thinking "damn, thats a lot of ice" when seeing the river just upstream of the glenwood springs tunnel. it is probably gone now, but I have not looked on my last couple trips through the canyon.

Another early season option close to denver is the golden park. at low flows you can practice eddy turns and peel outs, and some front surfs on the better waves. another option is the deckers run if the flow is good, but this may be subject to icing as well.

please do not go alone on any of these, especially for your first visit.

·
Super Moderator
4,035 Posts
I've rowed the section below Two Rivers Park to south Canyon in January and it was clear of ice. I'd expect Grizzley should be clear by this time of year.

--Andy

·
Registered
400 Posts