Mountain Buzz banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Avid Kayaker, Skier, mountain biker, sick of driving I70 from the Front Range. Looking to make the move to the big mountains. Ready to relocate to anywhere between Vail and Rifle and up to Aspen. Looking for a job doing GIS which I have 4 years experience in. Any help is appreciated. Post or PM me if you know of anything.

·
Premium Member
3,408 Posts
so whats GIS?

·
Registered
105 Posts
Geographic Information Systems?

Not a total guess, but I'm not really sure. Please refresh my memory.

·
Registered
334 Posts
GIS= Great Intence Sex!

I know, I know perverted but whats the point of an open forum if you can't say stupid things like that.

·
Premium Member
3,408 Posts
wow, glad I asked

·
Registered
161 Posts
I'm in the GIS/Carto field myself. Not much out here right now, unless you want to work for the oil/gas industry. Big bucks and probably traveling involved, but I'm not in the loop as far as the industry goes.

Check with the county/city governments. They usually have a GIS dept.

BLM/USFS have GIS depts in each field office.

Keep checking sites like...

http://www.gjc.org/

http://www.gisjobs.com/

·
God Amongst Men
1,994 Posts
surveying companies always need people in the know with GIS. also look into the regional city governments, they use that a lot to. and yes, it is geographic information system, i dot was all over it

·
Registered
346 Posts
This may be a bit far west, but I know that Mesa County had been looking for help in the GIS department (not sure if these positions have been filled or not). Delta and Montrose may have options too.